Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many claim that those who pursue a university degree ought to be allowed to study any courses they wish. At the same time, some aver that forcing the young people to study only those subjects from which they will benefit greatly in the future is only a reasonable option. Both prospects as well as author’s opinion will be discussed in details below.

On the one hand, giving students an opportunity to pick any subject could bring many benefits. For instance, students’ motivation will likely be increasing due to feeling that they are in charge of their future. In fact, implementation of the policy would turn them from possible objects of educational process into active creators of their fate. Furthermore, some people who pursue tertiary education may have doubts whether they have made a right choice or not. The proposed policy could provide them with an indispensable opportunity to be sure that they have made a right choice of profession or to alter their major field of studying. In other words, there are some benefits in having a choice and being in charge of one’s education.

On the other hand, studying subjects that were prescribed by pedagogical authorities has some obvious advantages as well. Firstly, university staff that often have connections with businesses and government structures may design courses that will meet tomorrow’s requirements. Thus, alumni will be well-prepared for competing with others in a search for a well-paid job after graduation. Secondly, limiting students’ choice means that they will have to enroll in courses that are essential and required by future work but often disliked by the learners. For instance, many doctors would probably desire to avoid studying anatomy which is considered to be one of the most challenging subjects that demands memorizing a huge volume of information. Thus, the policy discussed possesses some positive facets.

To sum up, in my opinion, although both policies have some pluses, it seems that benefits of the second one are more important because no one would like to be treated by a doctor who didn’t study anatomy at medical academy.