Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is a growing trend that differences among states have been evaporating and if the tendency continues, soon countries may lose their distinctions completely. Although some aver that these changes are malevolent, I think that they are rather beneficial. Below the reasons on which my claim is based will be discussed.

To begin with, there are those who are afraid of the globalization and who state that it kills their local culture. For instance, in Russia traditional national restaurants have being substituted by outlets of such multinational corporations as McDonalds and Subway. At the same time, it seems that this is a symptom of natural cultural evolution of the mankind; the change signals the origin or birth of a new cosmopolitan culture that knows no demarcation lines. The tendency will likely bring peace in many countries because the less differences people have, the less hostile they are to one another.

Furthermore, spreading of the same goods around the globe brings other advantages as well. For example, production on a big scale allows firms to sell more stuff for cheaper prices and this might be solving in the nearest future many problems of poor, developing African countries which citizens will be getting access to cheap and high quality seeds of corn and wheat. Thus, having a possibility to use the same grains as Americans and Europeans may help them to fight famine in their homelands.

Moreover, such items as cell phones, e-tablets and laptops have been becoming more accessible in recent years because of mass production. Thus, even inhabitants of remote locations may have those items to be in touch with the world. In other words, the current trend increases standards of living among people.

To sum up, there are those who see a menace in impending globalization but closer look at the situation reveals that the fearers are based on a desire to preserve obsolete life-style. The changes appear to be inevitable and they promise to be rather positive than negative.