TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Will spending money on salaries of university professors enhance the quality of education? Although some people may give a negative answer on the question, I strongly support it because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, spending money on professors will attract more professionals in universities. Today some tertiary institutions are understaffed because the size of educators’ salaries makes working in the university unattractive for many well-prepared professors; therefore, the quality of education seems to be low. However, if the policy is implemented, many professors will apply for a job. This change will let universities to pick the best educators with lots of experience and expertise; a competition among professors may indeed benefit universities, students via increasing an overall quality of higher education.

Secondly, professors who are well-paid will be able to devote more time to their students. Today many professors who are employed by universities rarely teach students because mostly they involved in researches which will attract money to their studies. In other words, they have to keep doing their scientific studies in order to get enough money for a comfortable life. However, if the system of education starts to allocate money on professors' salaries, the educators will learn that they are wanted to share their expertise and knowledge with their listeners because financial stimuli is a good motivator for people and by steering flow of money we may alter professors’ priorities. This step leads to improvement of the quality of education inasmuch as students, who are taught by well-known and famous scientists who made a contribution in their scientific fields, will have access to professors’ knowledge, prospect on subject. Thus we may expect skyrocketing of the quality of tertiary education.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow a person who thinks that in order to improve the quality of education universities ought not to spend money of institutions’ staff salaries. Chiefly, the person may aver that buying new equipment for labs, books for libraries and computers is a better way to improve the quality of tertiary education. However, I still affirm that distributing money on professors’ salaries is more reasonable step because even the best lab equipment in the world and most recent textbooks will not magically improve students' performance on their own. In fact, without well-motivated and well-taught professors with lots of expertise those new items will be useless pile of high tech stuff. However, professors who satisfied with their income and who made enough money for having a comfortable life may improve the level of education enormously.

To wrap up, professors are valuable asset; this work position must be well-paid in order to attract many of candidates from whom the institution may pick the best ones. Additionally to it, if a professor knows that he is paid for teaching, he will spend more time on teaching as well.