TPO-29 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A controversial debate is often raised about the ways universities should spend their money to improve the education standard. Some group of people hold the view that universities should spend money to increase professors wages in return for their services. Some others, on the other hand, would hold a different view and firmly believe that this money should be spent on improving university facilities. From my vantage point, I concur with the later group by giving two reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that universities who spend money on increasing professors wages does not enough left to spend on other facilities. Universities need budget to repair classrooms, libraries , and labs. Without enough money available to maintain these facilities students would have difficulties in learning. A vivid example which illustrate my viewpoint is the biology lab experiment that was cancelled last week due to the lack of equipments. In other words paying more money to professors might compromise the quality of education offered to students.

The second reason which deserves some words is that professors may have external donation from outside sources to support their work. On the other hand,th donations from outside sources may not be enough to cover the money needed to make the renovations. For instance, the cost of renovating only the library cost the university $ 200 thousand. Because of the lack of funds the university had to cover this money from their own pocket.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle reason. The noteworthy, refreshing result of a study which was published in the American education Journal which showed that universities which spend more money on renovating their building improve their ranking score when compare to other universities. This study was conducted on 120 university to avoid any bias.

To wrap up, contemplating the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that universities need lots of money for renovations. Spending more money on professors wages may compromise the services offered to students