Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are no doubt that are still necessary to develop young minds and create professionals we can relay on. The great question is should a student chose, at freewill, his own subjects to study or he must be obligated to develop skills that will be needes in the future? This essay will approach both arguments and defend and an opinion that students should chose what subject they prefer.

First of all, some might ague that a profession must be chosen by taking under consideration its role on behalf of the society and the necessity of the market labor today and in the forthcoming days. Keeping that in mind, universities alummnus must be aware of the global situation and have the peception of what profsessionals are needed of going to be relevants in the future in order to study subjects that will be useful. For example, with the increase of artificial intelligence, the professional in technological fields will not only be the most requested, but also the ones with higher salaries because they will be necessary for business to survive. So, people should study only useful subjects to be prepared for what is coming.

On the other hand, students must be able to chose their own path though universities and study what they like because you cannot force someone to appreciate something they do not like. If a person is obligated to chose a subject it might educate who is not fit for the job because he or she dislikes it. Besides, having a wider range of possibilities in the universities opens up the idea of more professionals in other fields. Maybe the profession of the future will be related to technology, however, until this day come, the society needs many others, such as doctors, lawyers and fire fighters, for instance. Therefore, it is fantastic that students are able to chose the subjects they identify the most and doing so they might become excellent professionals.

In conclusion, although some may think it is better to obligate a person to study a subject that will be needed in the future, I believe that this can create frustrated workers and they will not be able to do a good job as expected by the society. In addition, the possibility of chose what to study might form useful professionals that are needed today.