Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that all younger adults should enroll in an academic program of their interest. Others, however, believe that they should be restricted to take up vocational subjects which are beneficial for their professional career. While studying a favorite subject greatly motivates a student to acquire knowledge, I believe that it is better for students to take up subjects which will help them for their future career opportunities.

Firstly, students have a wide range of subjects to choose from at a tertiary educational institution. Some choose to study less common academic subjects such as ornithology, music and fine arts because they seem very interesting for them. However, there are very few employment opportunities and the wages are very low in those areas. As a result, most of such students suffer from being unemployed or working for less salary. A study carried out by the Denver University, USA, reveals that out of thirty students, only ten managed to find a job in the field of ornithology with lower pay structure and the rest joined in menial jobs. Therefore, we can understand that it is not recommended for students to study whatever they like.