Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether art should be compulsory for students at school or not, is a controversial topic. While many individuals believe that art is an important subject in the curriculum at a school level, others opine learning art as a subject is misspend of time. This essay will discuss why studying art at schools is considered to be useless but why having art as a crucial subject is ultimately beneficial.

To have an art subject as a necessary part of the syllabus is a wasted effort. There are many other important subjects that would benefit pupils in their future life including mathematics, computer science or technology to name but a few. These subjects will help learners to find a prosperous profession. By contrast, most of the artists have been struggling to make a living from selling their work of art. For these reasons, studying art is not so profitable.

But not everyone considers in terms of earnings and learning music, drawing, painting and sculpture can, in fact, be an extremely positive experience. After concentrating on stem subjects, learners need to do some physical activities to relax their mind. For instance, singing a song in a music class could bring a positive emotion to students. In addition, studying such interesting subjects could improve the performance of students in other subjects. In short, art related subjects enhance fine motor skills, hand-eye coordination, and problem-solving skills of children.

This essay discussed why art as a key subject in schools’ course is being challenged but why learning it can be such a pleasurable experience. In my opinion, studying art with other subjects is the best way to develop a balanced character and offers a superior experience.