some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past few decades, there is a remarkable rise in road accidents around the world and it is a matter of great concern. It is highly debatable that increase the legal driving age is best way to increase road safety. However, I completely disagree with this belief and this essay presents the supportive ideas that would justify my disagreement.

To begin with, although, increase in the minimum driving age would solve the issue of road safety to some extent but it is not the only best way. In fact, the primary factor that could improve the road safety is better infrastructure. Well constructed roads, properly working traffic lights and lights during night could avoid accidents to occur. For example, cctv installations at major highways and roads to monitor the traffic and penalize the rule-violators will be a good idea. In a research conducted by Delhi University students in 2016, it was found that 80% of the total road accidents were due to poor infrastructe.

Another major reason that could help in improving road safety is awareness programs. Public awareness campaigns to encourage people not to mix drink and drive and not to use mobile while driving. Not only this, the statistics that shows the last year road accidents and the after-accident lives of the victims could make a noteworthy effect on the audience.

To conclude, I completely disagree that only increase in the driving age would solve the issues of road accidents or promote road safety. There are many other measures that also need to be taken for effective results and better road safety including public awareness programs and better infrastructure as this will not only mitigate road accidents but will also improve the beauty and value of any country.