Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Healthy environment is a necessity of healthy living, however,through our selfish acts we have degraded the quality level of environment. Recycling is one of the best solution to cut down on household waste. Many people believe that government should make it compulsory by forming a law for recycling and this is the only solution left. I completely disagree with this belief and this essay presents supportive statements to justify my disagreement.

To begin with, I believe that only law making is not the real solution for any problem. A new formed law will not ensure that all the people will follow it. For example, there are already many laws for the betterment of society such as road safety and women protection but still there are accidents and mishappenings this means that rule violators will always be there. Instead of making law, awareness campaigns should be organised to aware people about the poor quality of environment and contrast the quality of environment from last few decades, this will leave a tremendous remark on the audience that we have spoilt our surrounding and there is a need to improve it.

Another reason that defends the need of law is that self-realization is more powerful. If there exist a responsibility among the citizen of the country towards the society and environment, then there is no need of law, people would do their best to protect the atmosphere. They will recycle their waste and also promote the use of renewable resources.

To conclude, healthy environment is truly needed for the healthy growth of the society. there is an urgent need to recycle waste product in order to reduce the amount of waste and save the environment. I completely disagree with the belief that making a law is the only possible solution to accelerate recycling household waste. there are many other simple ways such as awareness campaign and self-realization is the most prominent tool.