Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some people, crime rates can be curbed if criminals are awarded longer prison sentences, whereas some people insists on finding other effective methods. In my opinion, many other measures can be taken to reduce the crime rate.

To begin with, a precedent is set when prisoners serve a longer sentence for their crime. Needless to say, others in the society will take a lesson out of it, and as a result, will not try to engage in criminal activities. Moreover, most of their life, prisoners spend in jail which makes them realise the importance of freedom. These feelings can be used to create awareness among common people by sharing prisoners experience, living in jails. For instance, a person in jail is subject to regret for the rest of his life when he misses the precious moments that could have been spent with family especially seeing his child grow.

However, there are several other ways for curbing crime. First of all, creating awareness about the consequences of various type of crime, explaining the exact punishment by law for each crime.As a result, a fear is created for abrogating the law, hence lower number of crimes can be witnessed. Secondly, ameliorating the standard of life, which is the responsibility of governments can bear fruitful results. As most of the crimes are committed because of poverty when finding difficulty to make ends meet for their families. For example, a person who is unable to provide food for his family is forced to rob and get money in order to provide food for his family. Therefore, in this regard, governments are to be held responsible in failing to provide basic facilities of life to people.

In conclusion, most people commit crime due to negligence and realize their mistakes soon. Therefore, giving longer sentences to those people may be inhumane and they should be given a chance to live freely.