Some people say that advertising encourages to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which view point you agree with. Give reasons with example.

People are divided between the opinion that whether companies sponsoring sports as a mean of advertisement is beneficial

or not. In my opinion, advertisement of products through sports has more disadvantages.

To begin with, sponsorship of sports is beneficial at certain level. Young children with a keen interest in any specific

sport are unable to showcase their skills to attract the eye of selectors in order to get selected for national team.

When companies sponsor sports at school or college level, students get a chance to play in competition at inter college

or inter school level and have a higher probability to catch eye of selectors. Sponsorship generates revenue for the

sports and allows to bear the expenses of arranging tournaments among different schools or colleges, which is not possible

from institution funding as it is limited. For example, Hassan Raza (Pakistan cricketer) got the eye of a selector

while playing at college level. He got the chance to play for Pakistan team at international level at the age of 16

which is still the record for any player to play at international level.

On the other hand, there are more commercial aspects of sponsorship which have negative effects. Many sports personalities

have huge fan following and these fans adopt their attributes without thinking about its effect especially young children.

Companies use the fame of the famous sportsmen to sell their products, who are enticed by handsome amount of money,

in fact they earn much more by advertisements than their salaries. Therefore to earn more money sportsmen agree to

advertise for any company and sometimes become their brand ambassador. Sometimes the product of these companies is

harmful for the health of people. For instance, advertisements showing the intake of carbonated drinks after sports.

In conclusion, sponsorship of sports for commercial purposes has more detrimental effects than positive