Some people think that the best way to solve the environment issue is to increase the cost of fuels for car and other vehicles. What extend do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems are becoming detrimental with the drastic increase in pollution these days. Raising petroleum prices can be a possible solution for this issue according to a certain school of thought. I partially agree with the assertion as many people who own the cars have the capacity to buy expensive fuel as well and it would not bring enough change in personal vehicle usage.

First and foremost, it will affect the people who are struggling with their jobs. They can consider stopping the usage of personal transport to cut down their expenses. As a result, a small number of vehicles can be removed from the roads and it could help to reduce congestions, air and noise pollution. In many middle-eastern countries like UAE, KSA, Oman, and Qatar, for instance, people prefer to have a personal vehicle when they have job. Otherwise, they can have survival issues due to other high living expenses. However, it would be effective until they are jobless for a short period of time and it would not make much difference to sort out the environmental issues.

Conversely, most people are enough wound to afford expensive petrol. They are making excessive earnings to have a luxurious lifestyle and they are less likely to compromise on their integral part of traveling. That is why it seems that this initiative would be insufficient to ameliorate the environment as a large number of car users would not change their lifestyle simply for an increase in fuel prices. Rather illustrative examples are European countries like UK, France, and Italy where petrol prices are the highest in the world. Still, most people have their personal cars and there is no change regardless of high fuel prices.

The conclusion to be drawn is that high-cost fuel can stop jobless people to use their own cars but it would last only until they find a new job. Moreover, people who are already using cars are less likely to give up as they are making enough money to afford a good lifestyle.