Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In society, inmates of prisons are kept in captivity and are not allowed to be part of society for their crimes. A part of the population believes that convicts should serve the community without remuneration instead of their prison sentence. I completely agree with this school of thought.

Juvenile delinquents and prisoners should be classified by threat levels to society and made to do community work as part of their punishment. Additionally, governments could possibly give this as an option to the other inmates as an attempt for prisoners to reduce their sentence. For instance, people convicted of burglary and misdemeanors should be allowed to give back to society and earn their freedom as it is a victimless crime.

Alternatively, the nation and its federal government could pay the prisoners for working and serving the community but deny access to it until they have completed their sentence. This could be an incentive for a prisoner to earn capital to be able to set them up well after they are set free.

Furthermore, the prisons are facing a problem of accommodating so many criminals due to the ever increasing crimes committed. Community service as an alternative to accommodating prisoners in jails could be the resolution.

In conclusion, I am in complete agreement that prisons should be for the dangerous criminals whereas other smaller crimes should be punished with community service. Having said that, community service should be given using high discretion and must be granted on a case by case basis.