Some people think competitive sport is important for a child’s education. Others think it has negative effects on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

An increasing number of people are concerned about the purpose of teaching sports at schools. Many people believe that schools should offer competitive sports in a curriculum, while others are against it because it may negatively affect children. In my opinion, I would argue that competitive sports should not be allowed at schools as they may bring many drawbacks to children.

It is a belief that competitive sports bring many advantages for children in the future. First, competition is a natural instinct in humans, and it is likely to strengthen children’s personalities. Therefore, competition is healthy because it pushes people to give their best or even over their limitation. Second, children need to experience these competitions at schools. This is due to the fact that when they graduate from schools, they have to step into the real world where people have to compete with one another to get jobs in daily life.

On the other hand, the negative effects of competitive sports should not be overlooked. The first reason is that sports should provide children with a sense of enjoyment rather than competition. Addionally, playing sports with their peers can build their relationships and teamwork skills. If competitive sports are brought to the curriculum, their relationships will be disjointed and fragmented. Another consideration is that playing sports encourages children to have physical and mental development, meaning that they become healthier and may have fewer diseases, such as diabetes. Whereas competitive sports may make them feel stressed because they have to against one another for higher grades.

In conclusion, sports are great activities for children’s development. Personally, I believe that competition in schools brings more harm than benefits.