Some people think competitive sport is important for a child’s education. Others think it has negative effects on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, due to stiff competition in almost every area, most of the people are in an opinion that competitive sports have positive impact on children. However, some of them disagree with the above notion. Before presenting my views, I would like to explore both sides of the argument.

Competitive sports offer many advantages like they make the children survive in present society that thrives on competition. Competitive sports provide some challenges that help the children deal with such challenges in life. Moreover, the competitive sports make the children imbibe the discipline and hard working nature and also helps them to build confidence.

On the other hand, opponents of competitive sports argue that these sports are detrimental to child’s mental health. If these sports are played at win-at-all cost attitude, some unethical means are adopted by the children to win the game at any cost. Competitive sports also have some toxic effect on relationship among children. Each child may refer others as his rival to his own success and may envy at other child’s success and laugh at his failures.

I feel that, competitive sports good but over competitiveness should not be encouraged. The win- at-all cost should not be adopted by the children. Children should be practised by elders from their younger age in competitive sports and the aim of the child should be playing rather than winning.

Competitive sports have many pros and cons. Students should take part in competitive sports because they help the children to adapt to the competitive society. The educational institutions should discourage any unethical things adopted by the children and thus it would result in a very good positive effect on the child.