Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent to hospital.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nothing lasts forever, not even basic human nature. And as the famous saying goes, "Time heals everything." I personally feel that drug addicts too,need time, support and an atmosphere of warmth and love to overcome their habit.

Drug and alcohol abuse is quite common nowdays. Medical research has proved it to be more of a psychological illness due to overwhelming stress, anxiety and depression rather than just an addiction because of what most say "bad influence". Treating this as illness will not only help them cure at a faster rate but also help more and more addicts to open up and reach for ailment. They can have the support of family, friends and the medical team too to help them overcome faster. Moreover,  many famous celebrities, For Instance, Lindsay Lohan, Robert Dowrney Junior, Angelina Jolie, have successfully battled this and have reached heights in their respective career. Had they been imprisoned and considered criminals, they wouldn't have stretched this far in their lives.

On the other had, Making drug addiction a criminal offence and sending them to the jail would help to control the addiction from the roots itself. Teenagers and young adults who recklessly try drugs on peer pressure would think twice before doing so. Furthermore, sending them to Jail would seclude them from their peers and help in rehabilitation. Chances of them getting readdicted would be way less as they would be away from the source and people for a longer time.

To sum up, In my opinion, Drug addicts should not be considered as criminals. Instead they should be treated by trained medical faculty under care and observation.