Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, believe that these problems cannot be solved if individuals do not take actions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that environmental challenges are enormous for people to solve. other people think these challenges would remain unsolved if people do nothing about them. In my opinion, people have a major role to play in solving environmental issues in our communities.

On the one hand, some people think that the challenges cannot be prevented. earthquakes, global warming and so on cannot be prevented by man because they are natural occurences beyond man influence. To illustrate, the geographical position of a nation determines the likelihood of experiencing these shortcomings. In addition, people think it is solely the government responsibility to prevent environmental issues. This is because the government have access to the fund and resources which can be used to early detect global warning, earthquakes and so on.

On the other hand, it is often believed that people can help solve environmental issues and i agree. The activities of man directly or indirectly influence the stability of the planet, which result into earthquakes, tornadoes, global warming, mudslides and so on. For example, the continuous deforestation makes the environment prone to global warming. Furthermore, people tend to be disobedient to government advice on evacuation from areas prone to disasters. A case in point is the people living at the Batagarawa area of Freetown. The government tried relocating them to another area to prevent them been killed during mudslides but declined. this lead to the death of several thousand of the citizens.

In conclusion, considering other peoples opinion, i think the people have a major role to play in the reducing the consequences of global warming in the society.