Some people think that the government should be responsible for solving the traffic and pollution problem. Do the benefits outweigh the drawback?

Nowadays, the menace of traffic and pollution is one rise across the world and has led to a movement by the people against the government to take effective steps to counter the problem before it reaches the point of no return. The essay will deal with whether the benefits outweigh the drawback.

On the one hand, there are numerous problems that the modern civilized society faces. Even though there is a number of issues that are to be addressed. However, lately, the issue of pollution and traffic has been addressed as a greater problem. The people feel that these issues need to be addressed as with these problems come multiple problems which affect the society at large and in order to protect the needs of the citizens the government should take effective steps to safeguard the public at large. For instance, it is the duty of the government to protect the welfare of the people and it is a fundamental right of people to have a better life. Thus, the government should focus on reducing the menace to form a better society.

On the contrary, the drawback of the problem, some feel that the sole effort by the government will not be sufficient to deal with the problems as the joint efforts of the citizens of the state is required. There is a need for proper participation of people to reduce the traffic and pollution. More and more societies with the stringent implementation of law are not able to deal with these problems as well. To cite an example, the city of Los Angeles was not able to deal with the pollution levels and traffic had asked the car manufacturers to retrofit the cars with a new system to reduce emission. Therefore, the people need to serve their part to protect the environment.

In conclusion, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks as it is the duty of the government to have strict measures to enable people to lead a better life. The said objectives can be achieved by the enforceability of law in effective manner.