Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Majority of people around the world agree that instead of investing money on arts, the government should use it for better causes. In my opinion, I completely agree that the government should not waste funds on arts, instead use them for individual growth and betterment of the society.

Firstly, it is often believed that the amount of money government spends on arts is extortionate. However, these funds can be efficiently used if they are invested in the development of an Individual. For example, in several developing countries like India, were people struggle hard to earn the basic amenities of life like food, shelter and education, it is not a wise decision to invest money in preserving artifacts. Moreover, this amount can be used in providing them proper food, housing and better education opportunities. This in turn will result in improving their standard of living and this certainly is a better way to invest money.

Secondly, instead of investing money in building art museums and high-rise statues, if the government uses this money in improving the infrastructure of the country, several major issues of the country can be tackled. For instance, the major cause of road accidents in most of the countries is poor road conditions. If the government allocates funds for building and maintenance of roads, these mishaps can be avoided. This not only will increase the safety of people on road but also help in upliftment of the society.

In conclusion, money which the government wastes on arts can be used in a better way by allocating them for the development of an individual. These funds can also be efficiently used if they are invested in infrastructural development. This in turn will benefit both an individual and the society.