Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

It is argued that the age of retirement should be 65 for everyone, however, others believe that particular employees should be able to retire early. I agree with the later view. From my point of view, people working in the mining and production factories should be exempted from the guideline of retirement depicted by the government.

For instance, people become physically feeble as they grow older, they find it difficult to perform all of their duties efficiently as they were able to when they were young. It is evident that working in factories requires physical fitness and mental steadiness as several tasks manual labor centric such as heavy lifting and operating heavy machinery. Because of less physical capabilities, workers over 65 might not perform rapidly and thus delaying the production at the factory which may result in a loss for the company. In addition, in old age worker tend to lose their eyesight and hearing efficiency as well, hence it is quite possible that they are unable to follow instructions properly which may affect their job. Moreover, the risk of potential injuries is higher, if they get injured while at work, the company will be liable for the compensations. Hence, to mitigate the risk, it is advisable that factory workers should be able to retire early.

Additionally, with digital technology, most of the factories also computerizing their systems, as we know the previous generation known as baby boomers are not very tech-savvy thus they find it challenging to operate new systems at the factories. Even though most of the companies arrange training, however, learning capacities decline as workers reach beyond the age of 60, also they are not willing to adapt new technologies and adherent about their old working techniques which may result in conflict among the employees at the workplace.

To recapitulate, although there is a certain age of retirement, if a particular industry demands early retirement and pension because of their job roles, the age restriction should be waived.