Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

In today’s competitive world, where companies and businesses are enforcing strict working policies, lacking human consideration, such as seniority, medical health etc. and focus merely on achieving business vision and mission. However, certain section of society have contrasting views and believe in flexible policies, in favor of senior citizens, especially for those professions involving extreme hard work. In my opinion, such an approach is definitely a great option for easing sufferings of elderly people.

Firstly, professions involving extreme physical activities such as, construction workers, production factory labors etc. demands a lot of energy, for which elderly citizen should be avoiding. Therefore, public authorities must respect their age and must allow them an optional early retirement, provided a worker has already dedicatedly worked for a minimum years (say 10 years). Secondly, military men who have proudly server their nation under life threatening circumstances must be honored with an option of early pension. For instance, India has already implemented such a policy, allowing a military professional to take self retirement after a minimum of 15 years of service. Thirdly, certain crucial professions, for example: a pilot, train drivers, naval officers requires people who are mentally as well as physically fit. More importantly, such works require good eyesight which might be a matter of concern for elderly workers. Furthermore, such duties are highly responsible, as lives of people onboard will be in their hands.

On the other hand, enforcing such policies might lead to loop hole in the HR policies allowing citizenry to exploit the schemes negatively, For instance, a person who have not worked towards national development till 55 years of age and just to receive pension, can work only for 5 years. Therefore, to apply such policies, a detailed analysis of various use-cases must be done to ensure that it leads to economic progress.

To conclude, senior citizens are pillars of any society and must be respected. Therefore, forcing them to work beyond their capabilities is morally incorrect and governments must come up with lenient working policies in favor of elderly citizens.