Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

In today’s world, there has been a great demand of workforce which is irrespective of the age. The numbers are growing rapidly and it has sparked a debate about age at which people should be freed from the web of work. The essay will deal with the benefits of superannuating certain classes of workers.

On the one side, with the emergence of numerous job opportunities for different class of people the competition has spiked up. This has led to increased stressful hours of work and posing a risk for the health and safety of the worker as well as the person benefiting from the said tasks. The need has arisen to consider the options of retiring certain classes of workers before a specific time frame. The move would cost the public exchequer a lot of money with superannuates receiving a sum for a longer period of time with less work. For instance, the soldiers who are day and night devoting their life for safety of people within the borders deserve to be retired early. There are certain classes of profession which require a higher level of fitness which beyond a certain age is bound to diminish such as a pilot or a naval pilot who require precise level of mind for calculation and eye sight. As such where the hands of people are at stake should be dealt with in a cautious manner.

On the other hand, the move might come as a benefit to the group of people who willingly want to exploit the policies. They would only work for sometime when nearing to the specific age in order to receive monetary benefits.

In conclusion, in my opinion, I feel that the senior citizens should be allowed to lead a dignified life after having served their country for a longer span of time. The government should on the other side award financial aid to old age people on the basis of education level, medical requirements and status in society in order to make sure that only the ones in need receive benefit and is not exploited by even an affluent old age citizen.