Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of

time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and

disadvantages of both approaches.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge or experience.

Today, it is mostly believed that the students should get work experience or take a break after their high school gets over. This essay will chalk out the pros and cons of these views below.

Firstly, it is good to get a break from school after having to study continuously for 12 to 16 years. Secondly, travelling or working for a short span may give time to students to ponder upon various things like their career options, their hobbies, knowing and exploring the world through travelling etc. As an illustration, my elder sibling chose to travel before getting started with her higher education. She realized on the go, that travelling is something that she wants to pursue as her career. She now works as a travel blogger with quite a satisfactory pay-package and seems to have a lot of passion and determination to work every day. Lastly, people may want to use this opportunity and gain some work experience on the stream they are interested in. This will be extremely helpful in getting an understanding about their graduation or post-graduation courses.

Whilst a pause in the studies sounds like an exciting experience, it has its own disadvantages. There may be cases when the students are not inclined to continue with their education and this break will distract them further more. Since there is no break in between their studies, one may expect to be done with their education and hence get a job earlier than others. Another possibility is that the students may get involved in illegal activities like drugs, partying with strangers etc. during their free time. There is a high chance of this happening as the students will have liberty to use their time in their own way and are not liable to studies.

To conclude, students need to make a sensible decision and utilize the spare time after the high school in a good, constructive way. They should be using this time to learn new things to help themselves in the long-run rather than spoiling their future by wasting this time.