Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Weather to educate boys and girls in the co-education or in the gender based schools is a debatable issue. This essay believes that co-education is far better than its counterpart. The essay will discuss first the advantages of mixed schools and then mention, why separate schools are not recommended.

Nowadays, majority of parents prefer mixed schools for their kids as compared to traditional single sex schools. The primary advantage of mixed school is that children learn to overcome shyness while talking with opposite sex and also, become trained to respect opinions of different gender. These are essential skills needed for their overall development as in future they will be working with people of mixed sex. Therefore, it is better to inculcate them from the childhood to become a better speaker and a person as they grow up. For example, the Times newspaper published a survey which mentioned that majority of the male parents, who went to the boy’s school, admitted that they were shy and uncomfortable to work with female colleagues.

Another point to consider is that same sex schools have different environment compared to mixed schools which alters the overall behaviour and communication of children. The kids become comfortable and accustomed of the lifestyle which doesn’t consider the effects of their actions on opposite gender. For example, many boys from the integrated school often use more inappropriate words or slang. These words are unintentional but spoken out naturally, as a result of their upbringing in the males only society. I believe this lack of social awareness is a negative development for them and thus, parents need to consider mixed schooling.

In conclusion, kids growing up in a mixed gender schools is certainly beneficial as they become confident to communicate and work with opposite gender, and also develops a better social awareness of their actions.