Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Discuss two views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that solving puzzles and reading books in spare time sharpens the mind while others opine that resting is advantageous. However, I believe that occupying the mind with reading and playing puzzle games is helpful because it makes a person capable of handling critical situations easily.

On the one hand, reading provides us knowledge and word puzzle improves our thought process. Performing such activities is quite similar to the physical exercise works to strengthen the body muscles. So, it is a method used for brain exercise which helps to enhance certain parts of the brain. Someone who utilizes his recreational time by reading or solving puzzles outperform the one who does not. For example, software programmers at Google are known as the fastest to solve any sort of programming issues. This is because Google provides books, magazines, and puzzles to the employees to spend their leisure time.

On the other hand, resting and relaxing is necessary because it is stress relieving. People often seem to be tired or in stress because of their hectic work schedules or tasks. So, having a quick nap or looking at a beautiful view of nature from the balcony in a free time helps to relax. It refreshes and recharges the mind to continue for the rest of the day, like a fresh start. To illustrate, a report by world economic forum in Japan doctors advice patients to walk in the forest to get rid of stress and depression.

To conclude, it is irrefutable that reading and performing puzzle games enhances the ability of problem solving and creative thinking. Whereas, resting the mind is a dose of stress buster medicine. I think that reading and playing puzzle games are more beneficial for improving the mind.