Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industries to move to regional areas outside the urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweighs the disadvantages?

Post this industrialization and urbanization era, people has observed the need that is will be advantages if big corporate houses shift their industries to under-developed and rural areas. It will not only lead advantages for rural areas but also will put limit on rapid and continuous shrinkage of resources in urban areas. However, there will be certain pros and cons as a result of this mobilization, which need to be considered.

Firstly, let us look into positive side of the coin. With respect to rural population, it may bring prosperity, wisdom and wealth. They will get employment at their doorstep without moving to metropolitan cities. An industrialization will be followed by the development of infrastructure, access to basic amenities on their door-step, increase in their property prices and many more. On the other hand, corporate will be get access to cheaper resources, certain tax benefits, lower production cost and adequate government support due to development of rural areas. It will not only beneficial for their operational overheads burden but also will help them effective and satisfactory settlement of corporate social responsibilities. Lastly, this transfer of large factories will lead to free up resources from urban areas which will be, in turn, resolve shrinkage of resources problems of urban cities so that their population can utilize these resources.

This gradual shift of companies will have its own set of demerits. This shift will disturb ecological balance of rural areas. In order to set up industrial, agriculture or forest land need to utilize which will result in reduction in greenery. In addition to urban areas, rural areas will be also get polluted with the vast amount of pollutants generated by these industries. Even though employment will be rise in semi-urban and backward areas, it will be followed by unemployment in urban areas afterwards. In spite of, eradicating urban problems resources problems, unemployment resulted as an aftereffects will boost crime rate in metropolitan cities.

The conclusion, needless to mention that every coin has two sides, so is applicable to movement of large companies. Finally, in my view, even though, there are many merits in favor of shifting of large companies to rural area, but criticality of its aftereffects outweighs benefits achieved out of it.