some people think that large international sporting events only brings drawbacks, and that it is not worth hosting them.Do you agree or disagree?

Sports contribute a considerable percentage to the growth of individuals and nations. But, there is a notion that hosting international competition events such as world cup carry more disadvantages, which I strongly disagree for the following reasons.

To begin with, sports meet gives a chance for nationals around the globe to visit a country. As a result, the traditions and cultural heritage of that nation can be showcased to the visitors. This way, the tourism industry gets benefited enormously. For instance, the stats show that after china conducted the 2008 Olympics, the number of tourists going there annually have increased by multi folds. This also helps in creating new jobs thus enhancing the economy of the country.

Secondly, such events give birth to new sports in many countries. In other words, in countries like India, there are only a couple of sports which have popularity among its citizens. Therefore, activities such as commonwealth games can help advertise about unknown sports such as fencing, polo, and judo. Furthermore, fans of reputed players get a chance to meet them when they come to play during these events.

Although there are many positives, many times these events leave nations with huge debts which are a result of spending too much on infrastructure. Moreover, the stadiums and sporting goods created for the same purpose are often unused later. A good example is Greece, whose economy faltered badly following the 2004 Olympics. Even until today, they failed to recover from the post shackles.

Overall, I think the cons of arranging big sporting events are negligible and the outcomes are often beneficial to both the public and the nation.