Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison. Some criminals should do unpaid work to help other people in the community. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

All over the world, almost every country has its own low enforcement system. Although, measures of punishment are differ from system to system, many governments use similar penalty for equal crimes and one of the most popular one is imprisonment. Some people believe that this measure should be applied in all criminal cases, whereas others are ton agree with this option. In this essay, I will look at both sides of the argument and give my opinion.

I strongly agree that surrounding is a crucial part of our live affecting its different areas. This means, that in case when every offender is sentenced to prison, they inevitably become surround by people who are definitely not the best candidates to look up to. Especially this might be harmful for youngsters and individuals who committed offence first time, because these people are usually between to minds about their future and have a huge chance to be rehabilitated.

Another reason why I do not consider prison as a best option to punish delinquents is huge amount of tax payer’s money which government spend on environment where inmates are kept. This expenditure include clothing and meal for prisoners as well as salary for staff working in prison and so on. I think, government can sentence those who committed petty crimes to social work instead. Not only will it save tax payers’ money, but also it will help state’s budget.

On the other hand, I think that all people who are responsible for violent crime such as murder, should be kept isolated from society. I strongly believe that government should not jeopardize citizens’ safety in favor of saving budget’s money or trying re-educate criminals.

To sum up, there is no doubt that prison is the most acceptable option for people who committed violent crimes in terms of safety for society. However, I don’t consider this type of penalty to be the best option for all delinquents. I believe that for offends like street robbery or tax evasion should be applied another penalty. In my view, this can help to reduce the risk of reoccurrence and will give individuals who committed minor crime a chance to rehabilitate effectively.