Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that to resolve the problems related to traffic and transportation, the populace ought to be motivated to reside in towns instead of the border of cities. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the notion of the statement as this makes cities crowded and polluted.

On the one hand, relocating from the countryside make the cities overcrowded. This is because it increases the cities population which results in a shortage of scarcity of resources to satisfy the need of the individual. This in turns increases the movement to traffic in the city to satisfy their basic needs. For instance, cities like Mumbai and Hyderabad are overcrowded with the movement of migrants from other places in search of a job. Thus, we can conclude that moving from suburbs to cities increases circulation on the road.

Moreover, the movement of individual increase pollution. Owing to the fact that more population means more transportation facilities required which increases the level of pollution in the air. This results in an increase in traffic jams and intensifies the problem of pollution. (Recently, Singapore has launched an industrial project with 100 billion on the outskirts, and providing employment to the people living around to stop their migration to cities). This is why India is currently introducing and developing industries in the countryside to reduce the movement of people. Hence, encouraging people to reside in cities is disadvantageous for traffic in general and public transport in particular.

To conclude, I wholeheartedly disagree with the relocation of people as this will not only make the place crowded but also increase the level of pollution. It is recommended that other modes of public transport like metros should be introduced to solve the issue of traffic flow.