Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a known fact that a well-mannered younger generation will form a good society. People’s opinions differ to as whether it is the responsibility of parents to teach good behavior to their offspring or good manners are best learnt at school. This essay will discuss both views and explain why it is necessary for parents to take that responsibility.

Firstly, children spend significant amount of their time at school and teachers have profound impact on them as they will be enforced to behave with discipline. Teachers often give an unbiased yet constructive feedback which will help younger generation to mend their ways. To illustrate, more than sixty percent of the students at Little Flower School, Denver, mentioned in their farewell speech that they were greatly motivated by their principal and have developed good attitude. However, I believe that the primary focus of any educational institution should be teaching subjects, and not molding children to be good citizens.

On the other hand, children look at their parents as their role models and often tend to imitate their actions in every aspect. This means that children’s behavior is greatly influenced by their immediate family. I have a personal experience with my friend next door. His father is very short-tempered and he also developed that attitude and replicates his father’s behavior in all situations. Thus, we can understand that younger generation impersonate their parents. Hence, it is very important for parents to understand that it is their responsibility to teach manners to their children.

In summary, despite the fact that children are motivated to inculcate good manners, I believe that parents should take greater responsibility in sculpting them to become good citizens thereby greatly contributing to a healthy community.