Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Education and skill training should be used instead.

To what extent do u agree or disagree.

It is thought by some human beings that offenders should not be sentenced to jail. Instead, they ought to be given knowledge and competence training. In my perspective, I agree with the statement and believe that this is the most prolific for offenders. My inclination is justified with appropriate arguments and suitable examples.

There are multiple reasons to support my argument with the statement that criminals should be imparted ability and educational training rather than sentencing to prison. The first and the most compelling reason is it will aid criminals to get a job. In other words, most of the criminals who commit crime are either poor or unemployed, so training them with vivid skills and knowledge will assist offenders to earn their livelihood. For example, there is a culture in western India to train offenders who have committed minor crimes, which has helped to reduce such crime by 5% and helped around 33% criminals to get a job.

Another argument is that training criminal and not sentencing them to prison will assist offenders to keep away from bad company. To be precise, prison is the home of criminals and if offenders are kept together they will make wrong friends and have a higher probability to re-offend once they are set free. Therefore, imparting offenders with useful abilities and knowledge will cater them to keep away from the wrong people and groups. For example, according to a recent survey by the Southern Police Department, 65% of the offenders did not indulge in crime after been trained at the rehabilitation centre. As a result, training aides not only to keep criminals out of the bad company but also to reduce overall crimes.

However, another side should not be neglected which claims that criminals ought to be sent to prison. It must be admitted that training offenders involve cost and this money can be spent on other crucial aspects such as education and sports.

In conclusion, although there is a consent of monetary aspects in giving knowledge and ability training to offenders, I strongly believe that imparting such training will help the society to reduce overall crimes and aid offenders earn their living.