Some people think that public health within a country can be improved by government making laws regarding nutritious food. Others, however, think that health is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether healthy lifestyle is an individual or a state prerogative has always been a bone of contention. This essay will attempt to study both the viewpoints and provide an opinion.

Some individuals refer to it as a state matter since healthy citizens are the biggest asset for any nation. Healthy citizens result in overall well being of the nation with negligible medical expenses and a high happiness quotient. For instance, in most of the developed nations in the West, government interventions such as free medical aid, subsidization of expensive treatments, mediclaim coverage to all citizens alike keeps the population healthy and in good spirits. Having secured the well being of its citizens, the country is then able to focus on other matters of strategic and national importance.

However for some factions, health and lifestyle are purely individual and personal choices. As per them, our lifestyle, activity patterns, food habits, diet is a reflection of our beliefs, family background, the region we hail from, the culture and tradition we follow etc. Similarly, the choice to opt for gym, yoga, power yoga, brisk morning walk, meditation etc is purely an individual’s right. By following a combination of the above diet and exercise regimes, individuals define their health and lifestyles.

I personally feel that while healthy lifestyle is a by and large a personal choice, but coupled with government intervention under the banner “prevention is better than cure” can help take the overall level of medical health and standard of living of the people to a comfortable position.