Some people think public library services are no long necessary but other think public libraries are useful services. Give your opinion

People have conflicting view that public libraries have become redundant as these days almost every piece of information is available online. While, I certainly agree to former view, as libraries are noiseless and not all age group is aware or comfortable using technology.

Reading rooms provides much more than just access to all genres of books under one roof. Undoubtedly, libraries are the most silent place where people focus on deep studies and research. Distractions and hustle bustle of everyday life destroy the pleasure of reading. To show, one of my friend has enrolled in the renowned library named “David Sassoon Library” for entire year as he is studying for PhD in physics and needs utmost concentration. Besides, for some people reading is a recreational activity which I strongly believe to be performed in environment where everyone is reading.

Furthermore, people from all age group are not tech savvy and so they opt for libraries. Not everybody is comfortable using technology like people who are aged and find it difficult to accustom themselves with ever-changing technology. Although, it is much easier to get access to information or study through internet, however, it is harmful for eyes as they get strained out by looking continuously towards screen. People might face some serious eye problems in long run. For instance, majority of young adults tend to complain about vision problems in early age as they spend an ample amount of time on smartphones and tablets.

In conclusion, the essay strongly supports the services provided by libraries and I believe this age-old culture is worth protecting in long run.