Some people think that families have the most powerful influence on child's development. Others think that other influences like friends, teachers and means of media have much bigger effects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that character of any person comes from roots i.e. parents and grandparents whilst other thinks that outside world over powers ones root. It is necessary to look at both arguments before forming an opinion.

First and foremost, parents have direct interactions with their children which develops their personality. Children develop their habits seeing their parents or elders in home so it somehow directly affects the upbringing. Most of the children take qualities and traits from parents. Parents know their child’s nature better than anyone else. It is very important that parents inculcate upright societal behavior and make their child a responsible citizen. That is why it is strongly opined that parents play strongest role in nurturing of child.

Secondly, children find out who they are by comparing themselves with others. Children should be taught how to build relationship and good mannerism in treating others. Most importantly, child should learn to develop and support good friendships which helps to develop healthy psyche and have better self-esteem. Apart from social circle, teachers also coach discipline right from elementary school. Nowadays, schools encourages students to take part to competitions which helps develops communication skills, superior listening, group discussions, building confidence etc.

Lastly, social media can be maker or breaker of one’s character. Media plays and vital source of information in both formal and informal education while on the other hand, media addiction can negatively impact leading to depressions, poor sleep quality etc.

In my opinion, it is difficult to generalize which factors impact the most on child’s personality amongst parents, peers or social media. Each element has their role to play and it is subjective about how the respondent takes it. For example, if the parents work extra jobs and are largely unavailable, their children may turn to their peer group for emotional support.

To put in nutshell, I would pen down saying that, in early years, parents play an important role however, in teenage and later years along with parents, peers and media too play important role.