Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this modern era, technology has transformed at a greater pace. It is suggested by some people that technological advancements are creating a gap between affluent and poor people. Whereas, others consider that there is a decline in the difference between both classes. In my opinion, there are still several areas where the poor have to suffer because of lesser means at their disposal.

On the one hand, the latest invention in the technological field has rendered many changes in the lifestyle of people regardless of which community or class they belong to. For example, smartphones and laptops come in various ranges from exorbitantly expensive to cheaper version, therefore, everyone can easily afford one depending upon their financial status. In addition, the internet is readily available free of cost at various public platforms such as community library, railway station and bus stops, which furnishes easy access to all the information available on the web. As a result, every person now has an equal opportunity to e-learning, social media, and online shopping. Thus, receding the gap between rich and poor.

On the other hand, there are certain technological facilities which have aggravated the difference between wealthy and poorer classes of society. Innovative agricultural practices, for example, are expensive. Only giant companies who have ownership of thousands of hectares of land can turn to such methods of temperature control, agroforestry, and genetically modified crops in order to yield substantial produce. Whereas, a small farmer with fewer means is still dependent on the rudimentary practices of farming through which they struggle to meet ends. Consequently, there is an increasing gap between the privileged and deprived sections of society.

In conclusion, it is true that certain innovations, because of their cheaper cost, are profusely available to rich and poor equally. However, in my opinion, there are still many advanced types of machinery which only the affluent can buy and use it for their advantage, thus, raising the gap between two different sections of society.