Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people Others think that it is causing the opposite effect Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, technology development has changed our everyday life in many ways. Some people advocate that it widen the gap between the rich and the poverty. Meanwhile, some people suggest that it narrows the difference between them. In my opinion, the growth of technology has accounted for the increase in the wealth gap.

Technology has brought about ease in different aspects which have contributed a positive effect on rising the income of the poor, especially in rural areas. The Internet is accessible everywhere and it is also affordable for most people, thereby promoting communication and trading. For instance, it has changed the business style of farmers who work in the countryside. In the past, they had to sell their products to a reseller. However, thanks to the popularity of the internet, they can start-up an e-commerce business and make the deal with customers by themselves. In this way, technology increased their income and shortened their distance with the rich.

On the flip side, the evolution of technology may exact a roll on the wealth gap. Since labor-saving technology and intelligent automation are adopted in serval countries to replace some workforce, many unskilled workers have become jobless and financially unstable. For instance, self check-out systems are installed in most supermarkets that allow customers to scan goods and pay the bill automatically, and in this way, the supermarket can save manpower which may potentially replace cashiers' jobs. As such, technology advancement poses a risk to decimate work opportunities of under-educated people and may lead to a widened income disparity.

To encapsulate, the technology advancement has helped some people to enhance their income. However, it has also caused huge unwanted effects on unskilled workers' work opportunities. Therefore, it has impelled to worsen economic inequality.