Online shopping is increasing dramatically What are the effects on environment and the kinds of jobs

Online shopping is significantly increasing

What effects does this have on the environment and the types of jobs required?

Discuss both views and opinion.

Owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, people prefer to stay home to defuse the situation. Shopping online has become a new reality. People can browse a sea of products at their fingertips, no matter groceries, foods, or clothes. Everything that the shopper need will deliver to their door after a click of the check-out button. However, the convenience of online shopping exacts a toll on the environment. Meanwhile, the surge of online shopping also increased the need for some jobs.

First of all, the augment of online shopping has caused detrimental effects on the environment, for example, the increase in solid waste. All products we purchase from the e-commerce shop are overpackaged. For instance, when a consumer buys a box of Lego from a brick-and-mortar retailer, the only package of it will be the original box. However, if the customer buys the same box of Lego online and delivers it to their home, it will be repacked with another box or even a pile of bubble wrap which will send to the landfill site most the time.

On the other hand, there are serval jobs created because of the raise in online purchasing. The growth of it has brought about a higher demand for delivery service, in this way it provided more jobs in the logistic process. For example, in the warehouse, more packaging workers are required, after that, drivers and couriers are needed to send goods to different areas. Furthermore, online customer service officers are also required to handle numerous after-sale services such as the request of refund, logistic enquires, and so on.

To encapsulate, the development of online shopping has created plenty of job opportunities in different aspects. However, the unwanted impact on the environment such as solid waste caused by overpackaging should not be overlooked.