Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

A section of society insists that children who the liberty of making all their decisions by themselves are more likely to become selfish. Whereas, others think that independent decision-making ability is significant so that children should become responsible and confident adults. In my opinion, parents should keep a close eye on their offspring’s actions and correct them whenever necessary.

On the one hand, the major negative implication of not questioning a child’s decision is that they are likely to become self-centered and complacent. This is because youngsters could think whatever they are doing is correct, as no elder person has pinpointed any mistake in their actions. Unfortunately, such adolescents will grow up to be selfish individuals who are usually ignorant about other people’s wishes. For instance, most of the children want to watch a TV program of their liking. They are simply reluctant to value whether other family members are interested in watching the same show or not. Considering this, parents should intervene in this behavior and make their offspring understand that other people's choices are important too.

On the other hand, there are numerous positive impacts of giving a child the liberty of making decisions. One is the child will become responsible very early on in life. For example, when children are given pocket money they are supposed to handle their expenses wisely, as their survival is dependent on it. Also, this experience from childhood will help them in younger years to render better economic planning. In addition, as elders are considerate about the decision of younger family members, this sense of independent decision making will boost their confidence as well.

In conclusion, I believe, children should be granted the freedom to making their own choices. However, parents should also teach them to be considerate and respectable about other people’s opinions.