Nowadays more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs.

What problems does this cause?

What are some possible solutions?

The job market is a competitive world altogether. With the increase in the cost of living, older people have to work after their retirement, eventually, the main challenge for them is the competition with the younger workforce for the same job. While this can create problems, there are steps that can be taken to reduce the impacts.

One of the first challenges for the senior population is to grab a job that arises from the fact that they lack knowledge of software and programs that are profusely used in the present work domain. For example, information technology is one such requirement in today’s digital world. Youngsters have profound and up-to-date knowledge and expertise in this sector, merely due to their college degrees, while aged people sometimes struggle to learn even the basics. Another major concern is receding performance due to longer working hours. Most of the senior citizens are prone to fatigue and generally cannot work for longer intervals. While some companies encourage extra working hours, it is difficult for the elderly to keep up the enthusiasm for consecutive tiring days at work.

However, it is important that the government should take some preventive measures to mitigate the effects. The government could furnish free training programs for older people in the most prevalent career courses required to secure a job. This can be done in public libraries or community centers which are easily accessible by older members. In addition, adequate legislation and control on working hours should be ensured by administration by denigrating the company which deliberately supports the culture of late working hours.

In conclusion, sometimes aged people have to work to support their family financially. While outdated work experience is a major setback, continuous learning through government free skill-building program can elevate their chances to beat the younger competition.