Some people believe that the government should not spend too much money on outer space exploration.

Do you agree or disagree?

Governments around the world are spending an enormous amount of money on space programs. It is opined by some people that the administration is squandering taxpayers’ money by investing it in space exploration, whereas there are several sectors on the earth which need immediate financial support from the administration. In my opinion, the government should first handle problems on the earth and cease funding for space programs.

The first and foremost challenge in front of developing nation’s governments is starvation. Because local administration fails to provide varied employment opportunities for the people, as there is an absence of industrialization. Also, the common man is not being furnished with proper means of agriculture in order to grow and feed their family. Thus, it is better for the government to invest in their economy first to generate revenue and jobs for its own people.

In addition, receding life expectancy is another major setback for many nations where people are being deprived of medication, even for treatable diseases. For example, many children in Ethiopia have suffered from malaria, cholera, and flu, and then died, from diseases for which vaccines are discovered decades ago, but, eventually not provided to the people because the government has less budget for medical care than space research.

However, there are still some people who would argue that space exploration is needed, as the earth is being depleted from its resources and there is no other way to replenish it, other than looking for it on a similar planet like the earth. I believe, while it could be true, no one can actually guarantee such outcomes. Therefore, educating the people residing on the earth about proper utilization and maintenance of the earth’s natural resources seems obvious, such as, proper sanitation channels would not pollute existing freshwater resources and using renewable energy sources could degrade carbon footprint.

To conclude, draining money in outer space programs is a complete waste as it is not solving current issues. Governments should rather make the investment in projects which will work for the well-being of people.