Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Public libraries are becoming less popular over the past few decades. It has been suggested by some people that society no longer requires libraries whereas others still reckon it is needed. In my opinion, the public library is a significant part of any society and its existence is essential.

There are many supporters of technology who believe when all the information is available on their technical gadgets, the use of libraries is redundant. Undoubtedly, the availability of the internet anytime anywhere has changed our lifestyle. Now, news updates flash on our mobile screen within hours of the incident. Free pdf versions of books are easily available on the web with a click of a button. However, it is very unlikely that the reader will stay focused and persistent during his/her study time, especially, youngsters because of the constant distraction that the internet can create. For instance, pop-up updates on facebook from friends or continuous ringing of receiving text messages usually tempts people to check their mobile immediately. Thus, they lose concentration in studies.

Nonetheless, libraries furnish dedicated space and environment for people of all ages who are interested in learning. The secluded and silent atmosphere of the library helps individuals to concentrate which is nearly impossible to get anywhere else. Moreover, abundance books and reading material available there makes the task at hand, whether it is research work or assignment, easier to accomplish. In addition, libraries usually document incidents related to local history which is probably impossible to find on the internet.

In conclusion, it is evident that public libraries are losing their popularity because of advancements in technology. However, I believe, for uninterrupted study time and to gather more information about local history libraries are imperative.