Shopping has become a new favorite pastime for young generation. Why is this the case? Should you encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

Shopping has increasingly become the new leisure activity for the Millenials. Fascination to wear new and trendy clothing and increasing spending capability of individuals has made shopping a favourite pastime. In my opinion, youth should be encouraged to develop other interests in different areas which can help them become responsible person toward society and themselves.

Fashion trends are constantly changing and younger people are the ones who are the most influenced by this change. This is because they are well informed about the new style statements in the market through various platforms, mainly by the internet, following many fashion websites. Moreover, people nowadays have plenty of easy payment facilities by debit and credit cards, easy EMI options which allow them a bigger window to pay their expenses rather than paying at once. For example, if someone wishes to buy a new Apple iPhone which cost a fortune for an ordinary man, with premium EMI options making payment in instalments does not seem big of a deal to people. For these reasons, the younger generation is more inclined to purchasing a variety of products to pass their free time.

However, they should develop hobbies that are beneficial to them in the future. Learning a new trade such as stitching, which is losing its popularity with easier availability of readymade clothing, can help then revive and reuse their older clothes with new styles. Thus, they will be cutting down on their waste product that is generated by unnecessary shopping. In addition, in order to keep health in check physical activities should be promoted in daily routine, by taking up any game as a hobby.

In conclusion, while shopping has become seemingly popular in the younger generation, it is definitely not very productive. So, I believe, youth should get more involved in creative activities that can result in making them a better individual.