It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The world is full of talented people. While some have inborn skills, others have acquired it through sheer learning. This essay will discuss why innate talent is of immense value in individuals but why consistent practice and learning could impart the skills as well as make anyone successful.

It is true that there are some people who have an inborn talent which leads to various accomplishments quite early in their lives and sometimes makes them the prodigies that the world has never seen. Moreover, such talented people become the source of inspiration for many others who wants to achieve higher goals. Consider, Mozart, an impeccable musician. Although his music released in the late 18th century, it is still loved and taught in many prestigious music schools. Provided that, despite having natural talent constant honing of skills is substantially vital. For instance, a sportsperson has to prepare his mind and body, irrespective of natural instinct and talent for the game. Sachin Tendulkar, a great Indian batsman, started playing in his teenage because of gifted skills but in order to have a long and successful career he had to learn the proper techniques to up his game.

However, not everyone is as lucky as the aforementioned examples. In spite of this, there are plenty of skillful and talented people all around the world. These are strong-willed individuals who learn to become the best in their respective areas. For instance, Bill Gates, the founder, and creator of Microsoft windows, which is used in nearly every computer system, was not a programmer prodigy. He learned from his failed experience and made improvements many times before launching the final version of the software. Therefore, with constant practice and patience, a skill can be learned which can do wonders for people.

In conclusion, although people with inborn talent achieve enormous success, there are only a handful of such examples. However, most of the people around the world have learned skills and accomplished laurels for themselves. In my opinion, people can become proficient if they strive hard to learn and can achieve in any area whether it is sports or music.