Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society. Discuss.

People’s opinions seem to differ on whether spending money lavishly on celebrations and special occasions is a positive trend or a mere wastage of money. While some seem to agree with the argument that it is necessary for the society, I believe that such unmindful spending should rather be avoided.

To begin with, people have myriad reasons to argue that spending loads of money on weddings and other special occasions is quite unnecessary. Firstly, they feel that instead of spending huge amounts of money on any celebration, it is better to save it and later invest it in better ways. For instance, instead of spending lots of money on a child’s first birthday party in a five-star hotel, it is better to save it for his higher education or a couple can use this money to buy a home for them. Another reason why some people avoid spending large proportions of money on wedding and birthday parties is that they want to avoid wastage of food as well as that of money. The meal menus are generally very large in grand celebrations, and once the party is over, often a lot of food has to be thrown in garbage. Therefore, it does not make any sense to spend money on holding lavish celebrations.

On the other hand, there are people who have reasons to argue that why it is imperative to have grand celebrations. Firstly, sometimes spending on special occasions like birthdays, anniversaries and housewarming become a social obligation for many people and they get in to the societal pressure spending their hard-earned money. Secondly, people feel that celebrations serve a way of enjoying life with their family and friends, and they feel that such celebrations are part of their customs and traditions. While this may be true to a certain extent, in my opinion, there is no need to spend large sum of money on celebrations. For example, a birthday party held at home can be as enjoyable as the one held at a five star hotel and yet it costs much less.

To conclude, I feel that unmindful spending on any occasion can be avoided. Instead that money should be saved or used in a better way.