Some people think that students should learn a range of practical skills at school (such as car maintenance or accountancy)

alongside traditional subjects like maths and physics.

Do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is an undeniable fact that practical skills play a pivotal role in the holistic development of children. Therefore, it is

thought by few people that the wide range of practical skills along with academic subjects out to be learned by learners at education institutes. I agree with this view because this notion not only helps students to excel in theoretical subjects in present but also would open the door of numerous career opportunities in future.

To commence with, excellence in academic subjects is the primary reason why practical subjects should be learned by the school-going children. This means to say that learning of non-theoretical skills enriches certain values such as curiosity and thinking out of the box which resultantly have positive impacts on academic performance. For example, as per survey conducted in 2018 by the Oxford University revealed that the problems of mathematics were easily solved by the scholars studying in grade 10 owing to their skill of verbal calculation developed from the practical subject like the account. Thus, it seems clear to say that an approach to learn practical skills helps in academic gain.

Furthermore, another pivotal fact that needs to be considered while discussing importance of practical skills is career opportunity. In other words, if students gain knowledge and experience of practical subjects and theoretical ones, it would play significant role by opening doors of various professions. The best illustration supporting this is that majority of mechanics working in the Honda motors in Canada developed their skill of car maintenance during their formative years as it was their compulsory subject of curriculum. So, it can be said that learning of practical skills at school plays vital role in getting better employment.

In conclusion, while there has been an inconclusive debate about whether the variety of practical skills along with academic subjects should be learned by students at school or not, I believe that it has positive impacts from the perceptive of both academic performance and career development.