Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few factions of the society argue that educational institution should focus on teaching more of the real-time oriented sessions than just bookish knowledge. I completely agree with this notion as practical knowledge helps the student to understand the subject more clearly and helps to know the practical situation that is absent in case of sessions carried out between the four walls.

The subjects that are taught in real-time are easy to grasp. This is to say that students, who are taught with the live illustrations understand the topic more quickly and efficiently. For instance, the recent survey conducted by Indian Medical Institute revealed that medical students understand the particular lesson quicker when they are taught and explained in operation theatre with live demonstration than just a theoretical class. This shows how practical exercises can help to understand clearly in a short time.

One more reason worth considering is the effectiveness of the sessions, in other words, the theoretical explanation in class and the practical illustration toward the same subject has a different impact. For example, the learnings in the classroom by architecture students about drawing a structure of the building is less effective than that of constructing a house in a real-time while working on the field. Hence, few educational institutions mandatorily implement every student to undergo apprenticeship or article-ship during their course.

To conclude, theory knowledge is necessary to know the basics of their stream but to have complete mastery over the subject, I believe that institutions should focus more on implementing practical oriented session in their course.