Some people think that watching movies is a total waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by many people that spending time on watching films is a total waste. I partly agree with this opinion and argue that while spending an excessive amount of time sitting in front of the television watching movies would be harmful to the individual's mental and physical health, it is a great way to recover from work stress and hectic lifestyle.

To begin with, Although movies are entertaining, watching them persistently may have some untoward repercussions on people's health. In other words, if a person watches movies during his spare time rather than indulging themselves in some creative or physical activities, such as painting or outdoor games, this sadistic way of living would lead to several diseases like obesity, diabetes or eye strain to name but few. Further, an obsession to the web series, which are like an extended version of movies, are common among the young generation these days, and they often spend a hefty amount of their time watching these web series till late night, which is great destruction of their precious family and study time.

On the other hand, due to a chaotic work schedule and hectic lifestyle, people are often under lots of pressure, and movies are the perfect option to decompress this stress and forgot about all the problems in their life at least for some time. To be more precise, when an individual watches his favourite movie, he entirely lost themselves into the story of that movie forgetting about his personal or professional problems, which is a perfect way to rejuvenate from stress and mental restlessness. Hence, taking a little time off and watching a most-liked movie would not be a complete waste of time.

In conclusion, considering watching movies a complete waste of time is not true. In my opinion, by providing a platform for entertainment, movies act as an ideal way to entertain and relax after a tough day at the office if time constrain are taken into account.