Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work ubdependently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Companies should consider a lot of parameters while recruiting new people. Although it is thought by few people that organizations should recruit a person who is innovative and has ability to work alone, others believe that ability to work in team and follow guidelines should be considered during interview. This essay will discuss both views of an argument and state reasons why I agree with former view in trailing paragraphs.

On the one hand, a certain school of thoughts consider innovation and ability to work alone as paramount qualities of a good candidate. This may be due to fact that, in the cut-throat competition, a person should to think out of box to stay ahead in competition in market. Moreover, this type of folks adds more incredible values to the firm to get better results in unfavorable conditions too. For an example, a employee in marketing department can perform better if he can able to understand market scenario and design innovative strategies. Thus, these two qualities play pivotal role while recruitment.

On the other hand, opponents of the above view are in favor of a candidate having ability to work in team and follow instructions. This is because of the fact that there are certain projects where people have to work as team. Owing to this, a candidate having skills such as cooperation, adaptation can perform better to get desired outcome. Furthermore, teamwork creates healthy working environment where everyone can enjoy work by following companies standard operating procedures. For an instance, most of the IT firms prefer to recruit people having ability to perform in a group for their projects. Hence, quality such as ability to work in team is crucial while selection of candidate.

In conclusion, while people have different opinions for selection of candidates, I believe that, in today’s era of competitive market, innovation and ability to work independently are two prime qualities that every employee should have to handle situation and excel in their current roles.