Some people say that not all criminals should be sent to prison. Instead they should do unpaid work to help people in

community. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Different punishments abided by law and order are given depending on the crime which is committed by criminals. However, it is believed by few people that some lawbreakers are allowed to do community services instead of imprisonment. I strongly agree with this opinion by looking towards its benefits to both the government and felonies, which are discussed along with pragmatic examples in my discourse ahead.

To begin with, it seems obvious that an unpaid work option as a punishment for few culprits is beneficial to the bureaucrats. This means to say that overcrowding in jails could be avoided which further reduces the expenditures involved in stay, meals and scrutiny of felons. Moreover, petty criminals do not get in contact with serious offenders which further avoid spreading of crimes in the society. Take for instance, according to an article published in Toronto Times in 2019 on sentences in western countries, more than government of Canada saved more than 20% expenditure by introducing free work by criminals involved in small crimes compared to 2018. Thus, it clearly evident to suggest alternative option of community service for some wrongdoers.

Additionally, lawbreakers who committed small crimes would get pivotal benefits by involving in social works as their punishment. In other words, by doing the community services, certain skills can be uphilled by criminals which could have numerous positives once they are released by an authority. In addition, these acquired skills could be used to get better employment in future. A best illustration is the Indian government involved some criminals in government funded restaurants has made it possible for felonies to get jobs in same field owing to skills they developed during their punishment. Consequently, this approach is indispensable to consider by having its benefits to society.

To conclude, by looking towards above discussion, I am of strong opinion that some lawbreakers should be involved in social services to have its long term advantages to government and mass also. The authorities should introduce certain laws having dual benefits.