Some people think that you can only learn about the cultures of different places by traveling there. Other people think that you can learn just as much about these places from reading books and watching travel documentaries about them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some people that visiting several places helps to gain knowledge of the different cultures. However, others believe that, nowadays, through several print and visual media, people are able to learn a lot about the cultural practices of a region. In my opinion, I consider that people derive tremendous benefits from travelling in person.

On the one hand, people's visits to various countries and cities provide a great deal of first-hand experience, leading to better understanding of the culture of that place, and I agree with this view. In other words, having engaged in conversations with the local people in the local language, savouring local food, exploring cities and archeological sites, provides direct contact and exhaustive knowledge, which a person cannot forget all his life. Moreover, the excitement of experiencing the place with all of your senses cannot be compared with any other medium.

On the other hand, some people have a view that various media outlets enable similar learning of numerous tourist places. Travelling vicariously by reading about it in Travel magazines or watching documentaries on Netflix and series on specialized TV channels for a few hours, provides more insight into the customs and traditions of a country. For instance, it is not feasible for many people to afford exorbitantly priced holiday packages, to explore Europe, therefore, books and TV serials go a long way in giving the idea about the cultural practices, which otherwise would not have been possible for a common man.

To summarize, although people gain a lot of information through reading and watching travel stuff, they greatly benefit by actually going to that place and indulging in activities with the local people, providing an overall exhilarating travel experience.